Who is This Year’s Big John Ware Optimist of the Year?


The time has come for nominations to be submitted for
a deserving member of our District to be recommended for
the Big John Ware Optimist of the Year. This should be
someone who goes over and above for their club, community and the GATEway District!
Attached is a nomination form to be completed for the
person you are nominating. A club in good standing can
also make a nomination. These nominations are due to me
by June 30, 2024. You may email them to me
at bpeace4@comcast.net, or you can mail them
to me at 1958 Little Texas Valley Rd, Rome, GA 30165.
Please give this some sincere thought and make your nomination NOW!
Click for details and form: Optimist of the Year Award
The Optimist of the Year will be announced during the 4th Quarter Convention on Saturday, August 6, 2024.
Thank you for all you continue to do for our wonderful District!
Bruce L Peace, Immediate Past Governor
1958 Little Texas Valley Rd
Rome GA 30165
(706) 676-4656

2024 Scholarship Contest Winners!

The District Oratorical and CCDHH finals were held at our 3rd quarter conference a few days ago at the Chattahoochee Technical College Acworth campus. The District Essay Contest winner was also recognized at the conference. The students did a magnificent job presenting their Oratorical and CCDHH speeches on “How to Change the World with Optimism“!

The CCDHH final was held in the morning and consisted of a speaking and a signing category.

CCDHH Contestants

The CCDHH contest winners were

Camden Cutrone  – Oral Presenter

Jasmine Howell – Signer Presenter

At lunchtime we heard from our District Essay winner Natalie Long   A junior from Model high school in Rome.  Sponsored by the Rome Noon club.. The topic for this year was “Optimism: How It Connects Us”

The District Oratorical finals were held in the afternoon.

Oratorical Contestants

CONGRATULATIONS to the GATEway District Oratorical Winners!

(From left to right)

2nd Place: Valor Lekas from Optimist Club of Holly Springs

3rd Place: Braxton Smith from Emory Decatur Optimist club

1st Place: Charis Guilford from Optimist Club of Knoxville